top of page
Writer's picture2cool CreditBuilder

Why Playing Video Games Might Not Feel Fun Anymore

6/13/2022

Nobody to Play Games With


In my younger years when everyone had more time to play games, I had plenty of friends who were willing to grab a controller and play with me. Now that I’m an adult, however, it’s become a lot harder to find folks. Sure, there are online multiplayer games, but none of my friends have the time or money to invest in these.


While I have yet to find a good solution for this problem, one thing that has helped is to either play MMOs or more story-driven games that offer more character depth. A good example of this is The Elder Scrolls Online, which offers some unique single-player gameplay with the option to interact with other real life players.



Playing Games Isn’t Productive


I’ve spent the better part of the last 5 years working for a rather performance driven company. Like many corporate environments, this has lead me to developing a performance driven mindset. If I’m not using my time to be productive and accomplish tasks, then I must be wasting my time right? Wrong.


The idea that playing games has to productive is absolute nonsense. Games aren’t meant to be something we work to accomplish, they are meant to offer a break from reality. While their are quite a few games that attempt to gamify the feeling of productivity, I try my best not to get caught up in this kind of thinking.




You’re Not Playing the Right Game


More often than not, if I find myself struggling to enjoy playing video games, it’s simply because I’m not playing the right one. Regardless of whatever positive reviews, next-gen graphics, or innovative battle mechanics a game has to offer, there’s always the chance it just won’t resonate with me enough to keep my playing.


The key to getting around this problem is to know what genre you like. For me, that’s everything from RPGs to indie games and point and click adventures. Once you narrow that down, it can help to start looking into older games that hold some nostalgic significance to you. For me, that’s pretty much any game like The Legend of Zelda, but it really just depends on what your introduction to gaming was.



6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page